top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFalklandsFi

Beyond Base Camp

(Photo: National Geographic)



Some people make the 11 day trek to Everest base camp at 5,380 m. It is a tough expedition for very fit and experienced climbers. The journey itself and reaching the goal of base camp is hugely rewarding. However, the trek is always overshadowed by the rest of the mountain that remains unclimbed.

Climbing Everest is the ultimate mountaineering adventure requiring a huge amount of dedication and determination. It takes planning, careful guidance and many skills.

Some days are a hard climb.

Some days are much needed rest days.

Everyday is an opportunity to enjoy and learn from the journey.

I'm climbing my own personal Mt Everest because the Falklands war and other stuff messed with my head. I'm not satisfied with the goal of base camp, I've got my eyes on the summit. Sometimes it gets covered with clouds. There are trips and stumbles along the way.

But.

One step at a time I'm heading towards it I and am determined to get there.

I have expert and trustworthy guidance.

I have a great and loving support team.

I'm still learning the skills required for new situations, but I'm a good (ish) learner.

I'm loving reflecting on how far I've already come.

Last nightmare was exactly 1 month ago on 7/9/2019. That feels amazing!

Sleep is working fairly well too.

My head is settling after facing and coming to terms with the most recent big story.

I'm feeling better, fresher, lighter, more peaceful than I did before I began the storytelling therapy journey and we still have a huge climb ahead of us.

This stuff works!

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

No Problem

It's been a tough 10 days in my head. During my most recent therapy session a particularly nasty memory monster reared its ugly head. Its...

コメント


bottom of page