top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFalklandsFi

Occupation

What did it feel like to be a Warkid? Blog 2  In this blog I'm thinking about life in Stanley during the occupation. What it felt like to be totally surrounded by the enemy. 

Smothered Everywhere was invaded by the Argentines. No permission given, they just forced their way in. Empty homes and other buildings, government buildings, Government House, the schools, everywhere was full of smelly green uniformed, Spanish speaking, men. With guns. So many planes and Helis in the sky. Unfamiliar ships in the harbour and out in Port William. Khaki Jeeps, vans. lorries, motorbikes rushing around the streets.

Intimidating In the middle of Stanley there was a kids playpark with swings, a roundabout etc. Visiting it was a treat. Except for our visit in May 1982. The Argentines were exercising their guard dogs - in our safe place. (see picture) Every piece of vacant land in town was taken over by their dug outs, makeshift buildings, shipping containers, guns. Big guns in the middle of our wooden houses.  Only their officers were allowed in our few shops. The conscripts gathered around the shop entrances begging locals to buy food and sweets for them. We were offered one guy's watch for some chocolate. The adult I was with wouldn't oblige. OK he firmly refused. These begging Argentines loved to ruffle my hair and squeeze my cheeks. I hated it. How dare they touch me. Violated Controlled We were totally stuck in Stanley. Couldn't go to our favourite places, Surf Bay, Eliza Cove, York Bay to walk on the sand and pebbles, enjoy the sea. All we could do was occasionally walk the streets and see that we were totally surrounded.  Big white arrows were painted on the streets, we were to drive on the right. The adults had much to say about this, many didn't bother and just drove where they chose.  The radio was forced to broadcast Argentine propaganda. We were not allowed to meet in groups of more than 4 or 5  By night we were under curfew and had to put blackouts up at the windows. Cabin Fever my lovely grandparents made a big effort to keep me safe. This was both lovely and frustratingly false. I could see what they were doing, but I just wanted it all to stop. I'm sorry to say, I was often very angry and bratty. Lonely No school. Friends had almost all gone to camp or the UK for safety. I was missing my parents. I was lonely.  Excluded I really didn't fully understand what was happening. I could clearly see the Argentines everywhere, knew that the British were coming back, but had no concept of the details. Grand parents quietly listened to the BBC news on the radio under the stairs. There were hushed conversations with friends and neighbours.  Worried about my parents, family, friends. The long dark nights were frightening. Unfamiliar noises. Only allowed to cautiously peep out - but worried about what I would see.  Hungry food supplies in Stanley were getting low. many favourites were unavailable. Water from the tap was dirty and dodgy. We often drank boiled roof water. Sometimes we even melted a bit snow and ice. Electricity came and went. We really were living on the very edge. There is eventually a very happy ending to all of this! Soon, I will try to write about life in Stanley as our returning and Liberating British were closing in. We were living in a war zone and it was getting mighty noisy.


Argentine soldiers plus dogs on the children's play park. (Not my photo)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

No Problem

It's been a tough 10 days in my head. During my most recent therapy session a particularly nasty memory monster reared its ugly head. Its...

Komentarze


Komentowanie zostało wyłączone.
bottom of page